Category:

 Biography

Childhood stories of family, country and belonging What is it like to grow up Aboriginal in Australia?
This anthology, compiled by award-winning author Anita Heiss, showcases many diverse voices, experiences and stories in order to answer that question.
... read more

Growing Up Aboriginal in Australia
$29.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Biography

In the tradition of Mary Karr's The Liars' Club and Rick Bragg's All Over But the Shouting, Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family. Jeannette Walls grew up with parents whose... read more

The Glass Castle
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

The Comma Queen returns with a buoyant book about language, love, and the wine-dark sea. In her New York Timesbestseller Between You & Me,Mary Norris delighted readers with her irreverent tales of pencils and punctuation in theNew Yorker'scelebrated copy dep... read more

Greek to Me: Adventures of the Comma Queen
$28.00(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Unabridged! When Jon Krakauer reached the summit of Mt. Everest in the early afternoon of May 10, 1996, he hadn't slept in fifty-seven hours and was reeling from the brain-altering affects of oxygen deprivation. As he turned to begin his lo... read more

Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Everest Disaster
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Biography

Awards:Winner of Costa Biography Award 2015.

The acclaimed author of Founding Gardeners reveals the forgotten life of Alexander von Humboldt, the visionary German naturalist whose ideas changed the way we see the natural world--and in the process created ... read more

The Invention of Nature: The Adventures of Alexander Von Humboldt, the Lost Hero of Science
$22.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Biography

An Activist Life is the story of an apparently ordinary woman - a high-school teacher from Tasmania - who became a fiery environmental warrior and social justice advocate, pitted against the most powerful forces in the country. In this fascinating memoir, Christine Milne shares h... read more

An Activist Life
$32.95(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Biography

'That's the way it is with us mob. We were brought up to talk kind of sideways. That's the respectful, true Aboriginal way.'
Reg Dodd grew up at Finniss Springs, on striking desert country bordering South Australia's Lake Eyre. For the Arabunna and for many other Aboriginal... read more

Talking Sideways
$32.95(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Biography

One morning on the outskirts of Damascus, two starving friends are walking through their desolate city and come across a familiar street that has been turned to rubble, concrete bridges towering above them like tombs and houses turned inside out. Aeham turns to the only com... read more

The Pianist of Yarmouk
$35.00(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Biography

Hugh Glass was left to die. Attacked Whilst hunting in the fur-rich, Native American-held territory of the Upper Missouri River, Hugh Glass was attacked and mauled by a grizzly bear. Hundreds of miles away from help; his fellow hunters were unable to carry him out.... read more

The Man Who Returned from the Dead
$22.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: -1

Category:

 Biography

Awards:Shortlisted for Nielsen BookData Booksellers Choice Award 2011.

Paul Kelly is a uniquely gifted storyteller. For thirty years he has written songs of uncommon directness about everything from love and land rights to cricket and cooking. 'Before Too Long', 'To Her Door', 'Leaps And Bounds', 'Don't Start Me Talking', 'Dumb Things', 'From Littl... read more

How to Make Gravy
$39.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: -1

Category:

 Biography

Reading Level:General Adult

The remarkable life of the vivacious, clever – and forgotten – Kennedy sister, who charmed the English aristocracy and was almost erased from her family history. Kick was Joe Kennedy's favourite child and Jack's ... read more

Kick: The True Story of JFK's Forgotten Sister and the Heir to Chatsworth
$29.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: -1