Category:

 General Fiction

'A wonderful book about wonderful books and mothers and sons and the enduring braid between them.' - Mitch Albom, author of Tuesdays With Morrie 'a true meditation on what books can do.' - Edmund de Waal, author of The Hare with Amber Eyes Mary Anne Schwalbe is waiting for her chemotherapy treatments ... read more

The End of Your Life Book Club
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 General Fiction

Series:Vintage Classics Ser.

A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves' I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs. A mere eighteen years of age when his uncle, J... read more

Augustus
$14.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 General Fiction

Series:Vintage Classics Ser.

WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY J.M. COETZEEA gang war is raging through the dark underworld of Brighton. Seventeen-year-old Pinkie, malign and ruthless, has killed a man. Believing he can escape retribution, he is unprepared for the courageous, life-embracing Ida Arnold. Greene's grippi... read more

Brighton Rock
$14.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 General Fiction

Its 1952. Bitterly divided by the struggles of their native land, the Courtney family empire has come to dominate the lives of all South Africans, white and black alike. But revolution is in the air and Shasa Courtney finds he must choose between his ideals and the quest for power.

Rage (Courtney2 #3)
$19.95(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 General Fiction

Awards:Winner of Independent Foreign Fiction Award 1991.

Milan Kundera's sixth novel springs from a casual gesture of a woman to her swimming instructor, a gesture that cre-ates a character in the mind of a writer named Kundera. Like Flaubert's Emma or Tolstoy's Anna, Kundera's Agn#65533;s becomes an object of fascination, of indefinable longing. From that ... read more

Immortality
$24.95(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 General Fiction

Reading Level:very good
Awards:Longlisted for the Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize - Ockham New Zealand Book Awards 2019

Art needs a sense of lack to bring about its own effects; where there is no feeling of need to make up a shortfall, there will be no work. Alright' I said, 'I'll try...' This is how Emily Stuart opens the intricately involved account of a classic love affair that becomes C... read more

Caroline's Bikini
$29.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 General Fiction

Reading Level:very good

The Laying on of Hands, the painfully observant account of a memorial service for a masseur to the famous. The Clothes They Stood Up In, the comic tale of an elderly couple's trials after their flat is stripped completely bare. Father! Father! Burning Bright, the savage satire on ... read more

Four Stories
$24.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 General Fiction

"Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look closely, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are things she'll never show you. Fifteen years ago Loveday lost all she knew and loved in one unspeakable night. Now, ... read more

Lost for Words
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 General Fiction

Series:44 Scotland Street

For seven-year-old Bertie Pollock, life in Edinburgh's most celebrated fictional street has just got immeasurably better. The enforced absence of his endlessly pushy mother Irene - currently consciousness-raising in a Bedouin harem (don't ask) - has manifold and imme... read more

The Revolving Door of Life
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 General Fiction

Series:The Asian Saga

Set in Changi, the most notorious prisoner of war camp in Asia, King Rat is an heroic story of survival told by a master story-teller who lived through those years as a young soldier. Only one man in fifteen had the strength, the luck, and the cleverness simply to survive Changi. And then there was King.

King Rat
$24.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 General Fiction

Reading Level:General Adult
Awards:Shortlisted for James Tait Black Memorial Book Prize: Fiction 2014. Long-listed for IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2015 and Folio Prize 2014.

* Shortlisted for the Folio Prize 2014* *Longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction* Reno mounts her motorcycle and sets a collision course for New York. In 1977 the city is alive with art, sensuality and danger. She falls in with a bohemian clique colonising downtown and the lines between r... read more

The Flamethrowers
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 General Fiction

Friday: as a Test match between England and India begins, a woman's attention is torn between her husband's insistence on explaining the rules of cricket, her lover's preference for mystery, and the worrying disappearance of her sixteen-year-old stepson. By Tuesday night the outcome of the match will ... read more

24 for 3
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0