Category:

 Science

Series:Great Experiments Ser.

From Galileo's stargazing to quantum teleportation, from Newton's experiments with optics to the splitting of the atom, Schrödinger's Cat tells the story of natural science through fifty of its greatest experiments. Featuring e... read more

Schrödinger's Cat and 49 Other Experiments That Revolutionised Physics
$24.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Science

30TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION. By popular demand from a number of libraries and institutions, Hale and Iremonger will be producing a hardcover edition of Eric Roll's A MILLION WILD ACRES in a very short run of 300 copies. This will be a very useful Christmas gift for the serious rea... read more

A Million Wild Acres
$34.95(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Science

'This is the book I wish I could have written but am very glad I've read' Jim Al-Khalili'I think I can safely say that nobody understands quantum mechanics.?Richard Feynman wrote this in 1965 - the year he was awarded the Nobel prize in physics for his work on quantum mechanics.Quantu... read more

Beyond Weird
$22.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Have you ever wondered why ice floats and water is such a freaky liquid? Or why chillies and mustard are both hot but in different ways? Or why microwaves don't cook from the inside out? In this fascinating scientific t... read more

Science of Everyday Life - Why Teapots Dribble, Toast Burns and Light Bulbs Shine
$19.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Science

Reading Level:4 Science

Australia's funniest mathematician returns in 2018 with more rollicking romps through the world of science, technology, numbers and all things nerdy. This terrific new fully illustrated title follows on from Adam's bestselling Big Book of Numbers (2014); World of Numbers (201... read more

Adam Spencer's Top 100
$34.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Science

A top behavioral geneticist makes the case that DNA inherited from our parents at the moment of conception can predict our psychological strengths and weaknesses.
In Blueprint, behavioral geneticist Robert Plomin describes how the DNA revolution has made ... read more

Blueprint - How DNA Makes Us Who We Are
$35.00(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Birds, Jim Robbins posits, are our most vital connection to nature. They compel us to look to the skies, both literally and metaphorically; draw us out into nature to seek their beauty; and let us experience vicario... read more

The Wonder of Birds: What They Tell Us About Ourselves, the World, and a Better Future
$34.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Science

Reading Level:3 Biography

A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.  Long captivated by the solid yet i... read more

The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate
$39.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Chances are, at some point in your life you've noticed the connection between your brain and your gut. If you've ever felt queasy as you walked into an uncomfortable situation or b... read more

The Mind-Gut Connection: How the Hidden Conversation Within Our Bodies Impacts Our Mood, Our Choices, and Our Overall Health
$24.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

'Peter Wohlleben doesn't merely look, he sees. Let's all learn as much from him as we can, and quickly.'Rosamund Young, author of THE SECRET LIFE OF COWSDid you know that trees can influence the rotation of the earth?Or that wo... read more

The Secret Network of Nature: The Delicate Balance of All Living Things
$29.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

How bad is it really, not to get eight hours of sleep? What happens to our brain when we're sleep deprived? How much sleep should we really be getting?Sleep is something so fundamental that most of us take it for granted, undervalue i... read more

Sleepy Head : Narcolepsy, Neuroscience and the Search for a Good Night
$32.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

'Charming, compelling and packed with information. I learned more about biology from this short book than I did from years of science lessons. A weird and wonderful read' PETER FRANKOPAN
We like to think of ourselves as exceptional beings, but... read more

The Book of Humans - The Story of How We Became Us
$32.99(AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2