Product detail

360 Sound

360 Sound

Author: Sean Wilentz
$59.95(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0

For 125 years, Columbia Records has been one of the most vibrant and storied names in pre-recorded sound, nurturing the careers of jazz, blues, rock, and pop legends such as W. C. Handy, Louis Armstrong, Bessie Smith, Frank Sinatra, Barbra Streisand, Miles Davis, Bob Dylan, Johnny Cash, Mariah Carey, Bruce Springsteen, Beyonce, Adele, and many more. This lavishly illustrated celebration, written by noted historian Sean Wilentz, tells the story of the label's rich history as it interweaves threads of technical and social change with the emergence of an incredible stable of artists and the creation of some of the greatest albums ever made. Also featuring over 300 rare and revealing images from the Columbia archives, 360 Sound is an inside look at landmark record label and a must-have for any serious music fan.

Author description

Sean Wilentz is one of the nation's most prominent historians. His books and commentary on music, politics and the arts have gained a wide reputation for their force, originality and elegance. Wilentz's writings on music have focused on folk traditions and contemporary rock and roll, especially the work of Bob Dylan.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781452107561
  • : Chronicle Books
  • : Chronicle Books
  • : December 2011
  • : 305mm X 238mm
  • : United States
  • : February 2012
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : col. Illustrations
  • : 336
  • : 338.76178149
  • : Hardback
  • : Sean Wilentz