Product detail

The Awakening and Other Stories

The Awakening and Other Stories

Author: Kate Chopin
Series: Word Cloud Classics Ser.
$22.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Inspired by recent current cultural movements (The Women's March, #MeToo), and the new wave of feminism, these new releases of classic books feature strong female protagonists who must navigate difficult situations involving class and power, love and loss, sex and family, independence and societal norms, and more.

From the back cover: "Hitched to a businessman with two kids, Edna Pontellier always knew the score and her sitch in life. But then she and her family go on vacay, where she meets a younger dude and starts vibing with him--and soon nothing's clear anymore about who she is or what she's thirstin' for. Things get too real, and before Edna realizes it she decides that she's DONE. She's too beast to fall in line with what society tells her she has to act like in marriage and domesticity."

This collection also contains Kate Chopin's other stories, including 'Beyond the Bayou, ' 'Ma'ame Pelagie, ' 'Desiree's Baby, ' 'A Respectable Woman, ' 'The Kiss, ' 'A Pair of Silk Stocks, ' 'The Locket, ' and 'A Reflection.'"

Each book is packaged in an eye-catching luxe paperback format to appeal to the Generation Z buyer, though these timeless stories will appeal to anyone interested in the female experience throughout history. Other books in the Z Lit Classics series include: The Scarlet Letter, Tess of the D'Urbervilles, Little Women, Sense and Sensibility, , and Tales from the 1001 Nights.
Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781684122943
  • : Simon Schuster Australia
  • : Simon Schuster Australia
  • : April 2018
  • : .75 Inches X 5.25 Inches X 7.75 Inches
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : Kate Chopin
  • : 208
  • : English